Matthew Wolff will begin Saturday’s third spherical of The American Specific a brief additional off the lead after he was retroactively assessed a penalty from Thursday.
After carding a 5-under 67 Friday at PGA West, Wolff was notified by PGA Tour guidelines official Steve Rintoul that he can be docked one shot after video proof confirmed that Wolff had, actually, violated Rule 9.4b, which states that “if the player lifts or deliberately touches his or her ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke.”
Initially, guidelines official Slugger White had decided there to be no penalty after Wolff’s ball moved within the tough as Wolff was in his backswing for his method shot on the par-Four first gap on the Stadium Course, his first gap of the opening spherical.
However after reviewing footage from PGA Tour Reside, officers reversed their determination.
“The incident was filmed on PGA Tour Live and was not brought to our attention until Matthew was well into his second round today,” Rintoul stated. “As soon as we realized there was video proof, we had to have a look at it. Matthew was extraordinarily skilled and initially thought he was in a disqualification state of affairs. However, thankfully for him, it was not.
“He was acting under the jurisdiction of an official yesterday and understood how the penalty applies when a ball is moved by the player. Matthew said he didn’t feel like he caused the ball to move, but certainly understood that he could have. He was extremely professional about the entire situation.”
Wolff’s first-round rating was modified to 72. He begins Shifting Day at 5 below, six pictures again of chief Sungjae Im.